Igbo names and spellings for various settlements
Abakaliki is Abankaleke; Afikpo is Ehugbo; Awgu is Ogu; Awka is Oka; Bonny is Ubani; Enugu is Enugwu; Ibusa is Igbuzö; Igrita is Igwuruta; Oguta is Ugwuta; Onitsha is Onicha; Owerri is Owere; Oyigbo is Obigbo... any more will be added.

Monday, March 4, 2019

Ọ́jị́ Ìgbò

Image: Cola acuminata, Ọjị Igbo.
A three cotyledonous kolanut […] has been variously referred to as Ọjị Ikenga [cult object of achievement, advancement] […] Ọjị Dike (Kolanut of the strongman or strong kolanut). […] This kolanut is thought to bring good luck and progress to the breaker in any enterprise in which he may be involved. […] Four cotyledonous kolanut is the most preferred in Igboland. 'Four' and 'Eight' are sacred numbers amongst the Igbo. Only a four cotyledonous nut is used on purely religious occasions. […]
In Iwollo in Udi area of Enugu State, a four cotyledonous nut is said to represent the Igbo week i.e. the four market days, Eke, Orie, Afo and Nkwo. Five, six or seven cotyledonous kolanut is called Oji Ọmumu or Ụba Ọjị (Kolanut that brings increase in birth, wealth and abundance of everything.) When broken, the smallest cotyledon is called ubaa (plenty).

– Comfort O. Chukuezi & Anelechi B. Chukuezi. "Kolanut Hospitality in Igboland." Journal of Igbo Culture, 2002, (6) p. 67.

So in looking at Igbo cosmology in general, it would seem that there's the belief that in the beginning there wa one, Chi, and then Eke split out of Chi, and there was two, and then Eke divided the world into four and there was Eke, Orie, Afo and Nkwo, and these are split into big (ukwu), and small (nta), making an eight day week.

No comments: